Map DB
ICCup
Map Access
New map
Edit map

Forum - main
Amount of mineral
page: 1
I am quite new to mapmaking etc and i really wonder cause nearly ALL of maps made here have very low amount of minerals at main, nat and expo
usually there are 8-9 at main (or +1 with 500 or 200) and nat has got 7-8
the maps here often have like 7-8 at main 6-7 at nat and 6-6,5 at other expos oO
why? :D
2007, 06, 16 21:42
Usually the mains have 8 minerals, the nats 7 and the minonlies 6.

Mains with 9 minerals once were an experiment, it was supposed to help p a little against z. But it also favored massing in general. I don't think many of those who put 9 minerals in in the mains really know why they do this.
A 500-min block in mains certainly is unusual...

So, I don't think 9 minerals in mains actually help the balance of a map much. But the gameplay certainly is changed towards massing.
The mappers on this page don't seem to like the massing trend nowadays a lot, so unless it is really necessary, many of them don't add that ninth mineral block.
2007, 06, 16 21:53
500 or any edited mineral in the mains is to boost macro. So the eco boost only lasts until your finished with it - then after it is finished, you loose the eco boost just in time before you have 28 scvs or probes (not drones) so the regular 8 minerals are balanced with the amount of workers u have. So its about watching your workers (the amount) and still having that eco boost. So if you have 2 edited minerals, then you may have to cut the amount of scvs earlier in order to have a good pace of production.
2007, 06, 17 04:43