Map DB
ICCup
Map Access
New map
Edit map

Forum - main
Welcome from a newbie
page: 1
Okay, I'm totally new at map making. I've made a couple, but I'm looking for ways to improve them.

For each of my maps, I've started with a specific concept, and tried to build on that.

Without further ado, I'd like to post images of three of my first maps. I'd be willing to make changes, if needed.

My first map is a 2 player one, based on rotational symmetry.

http://i400.photobucket.com/albums/pp85/Logan_8_8/2SnakeCanyon.jpg

The natural and corner expansions have 2500 gas instead. The 3 and 9 mineral only expansions have 3000 minerals. The mineral blocks are stacked 20X and have 0 minerals in them.

The idea is to make it a map which makes early rushes difficult, however, the map promotes harassment.

It is BIG for a 2 player map (being 128/128), however, the mains are very small. It will force T and P to build outside of the safety of the high ground.

My second map is also based on rotational symmetry. It is a 3 player map.

http://i400.photobucket.com/albums/pp85/Logan_8_8/3WindyIsle.jpg

Yet again, the idea is to make early rushes difficult, however, harassment is a viable tactic. There is a lot of wasted space on the top and bottom, but that is completely intentional.

It is a map using 192/192, so it is large compared to a normal 3 player map. The wasted space should help make the map feel smaller than it is.

The mineral blocks are 0 each, stacked 20 times. Each one mined out makes a gap in the entrance by 1 block. The rush distance is short once the mineral blocks are mined out, however, that is a difficult task. The map is essentially an island until they are mined out though.

My third map is a 4 player map, which I designed specifically for 2v2 (although I think it would be decent in 1v1, but it would give an advantage to one player based on starting positions).

http://i400.photobucket.com/albums/pp85/Logan_8_8/4AncientCrossroads.jpg