ICCup
Map Access
New map
Edit map

Forum - main
macro.
page: 1
epidion's post brought me back to this.
though i am no expert in (korean) progaming, i will write down what was my impression recently.

Do you think that the broodwar gaming - on pro level as well as on average - has become quite macro-orientated? not only due to maps like luna or r-point, but also regarding popular strats?
PvZ FE and TvP 1fac-fe builds were more and more used by progamers than before, and thus also copied by the gaming masses. that at least, is my impression.
also it seems to me like the first expansion (most of the time the natural) is taken very early, much earlier than it used to be.
is this a trend you see yourself, too? or am i wrong and that is just imagination...

what should be our answer in maps? should we lean more towards micro-focus maps in order to bring back more micro (with things like harder 1st/2nd expos, focus on harassment possibilities)? or should we answer the call and create more macro-oriented maps, with giving emphasis to implement at least some new/different features?
can we influence this trend by making maps, or should we adapt to the gaming community in order to get our maps played? remember we already adapt a lot to their wishes.

what is your opinion on this topic?
modified by flothefreak
2006, 05, 22 10:58
I'm all for micro-oriented maps, as long as there aren't gay paths like in Peaks of Baekdu near the center.
2006, 05, 22 15:00
1. (PvZ) a map being micro-oriented just means it isn't an obvious choice to 12 hatch or expect a 12 hatch. it should be somewhat of a gamble. the only way you punish a 12 hatch on these macro maps is some _crazy_ lucky proxy. a 2 gate pressure build should be a little more worth it than on luna.

that's the easiest way to judge distance. protoss FE if done right can be safe against many pool first builds (might lose the FE, but still will be ahead).

shorter distances than luna would be micro...